top of page

ChomPics Guest Post- Darren Cohn, "Pressed" Episode 5 Co-Head Writer


Hello to the loyal readers of the ChomPics guest posts. My name is Darren Cohn. You may know me this year as the co-head writer of "Pressed" Episode Five, a member of the Janitor Princess Productions commercial team, and for my Oscar-nominated role in "Pressed" as “Man, aka Craig”. Now, what do I have to say about ChomPics? Well, let me start with this:

Dear ChomPics,

I hate your stinking guts. You make me vomit. You’re scum between my toes!

Love,

Darren.

Whoa, that was a little rough. Sorry to let the tiger out of the cage like that ("Pressed" reference). All right, where was I? Oh yeah, ChomPics.

In all seriousness, ChomPics has been one of the best experiences of my experience so far at UF, and I’ve been there from the beginning. I was at the meeting where we came up with the name ChomPics. Unfortunately my idea of naming it “DarrenPics” was overwhelmingly voted against, but hey, you can’t with them all. To me, the funniest thing about joining ChomPics is that it so nearly didn’t happen at all. Every week I’m bombarded with emails from Dr. Ostroff, and I’ve almost ignored all of them (sorry Dr. Ostroff). But for some reason, when I saw an email with a subject reading something along the lines of, “Television Production club” I read it. And here I am.

Before ChomPics, I had no connection with my college or my major. I felt like a stranger in Weimer, I had no friends in any of my classes, and I had no idea of what I wanted to do in my life. ChomPics gave me the first taste of what production was, and it introduced me to a ton of other production majors like myself. Now, I have a passion for film making, experience that a lot of other students lack, and a family here in Weimer that I know I’ll have for the rest of my life, and I suppose I owe all of that to ChomPics.

But just imagine how much better it’d be if it were DarrenPics.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page